Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Christian Homburg

E-Mail: homburg(at)bwl.uni-mannheim.de
Address: L5,1
68131 Mannheim
Phone: 0621 - 181 1555
Fax: 0621 - 181 1556
  
  

To top

Short Portrait

Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Christian Homburg is director of the Institute for Market-Oriented Management (IMU) at the University of Mannheim. His special subjects are market-oriented management, customer relationship management and sales management.

Professor Homburg has published numerous books and articles at the national as well as the international level. He belongs to the very few German management professors who have also gained an international reputation in their area of expertise. Today, he is member of the editorial boards of 6 scientific journals in the United States and Germany. Furhtermore, since April 2011 he operates as the first German area editor for the Journal of Marketing. Professor Homburg received several awards for his scientific research from the American Marketing Association, the world's leading scientific association in the area of marketing. In November 2005 and in May 2009 he was listed first in a research-related ranking of the newspaper Handelsblatt. This ranking incorporated 2100 management professors in Germany, Austria and the German-speaking Switzerland in 2009. In November 2012, Professor Homburg ranked first in the global ranking of the American Marketing Association which is based on the number of publications due to his research activity in the most important marketing journals.

Professor Homburg was offered chairs at the WHU Koblenz (1995), the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universiy Munich (1995), the Leipzig Graduate School of Management (1995) and the University of Mannheim (1998). Moreover, in 2002 he was asked to succeed Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Heribert Meffert at the long-established Institute of Marketing at the University of Münster. In 2003, the renowned Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, USA offered him a position as chaired professor. In March 2006, the Copenhagen Business School awarded Professor Homburg with the honorary doctor and in July 2008 he received his second honorary doctor from the Technical University Freiberg. Since the end of 2007 he is Professorial Fellow at the Department of Management and Marketing at the University of Melbourne.

Prior to his academic career Professor Homburg was director of marketing, controlling and strategic planning in an industrial company that operates globally. In addition to his academic position he is chairman of the scientific advisory committee of Homburg & Partner, an international management consultancy.

From the 01.12.2006 until the 1.11.2010, Professor Homburg was the exclusive managing director of the Mannheim Business School. Under his tutelage Mannheim Business School was able to evolve into a leading institute in Europe for management education. Under his term in office, the number of students more than quadrupled and the MBA programs at Mannheim Business School are now among the leading programs in the world. 

To top

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Christian Homburg

E-Mail: homburg(at)bwl.uni-mannheim.de
Anschrift: L5,1
68131 Mannheim
Telefon: 0621 - 181 1555
Fax: 0621 - 181 1556
  
  

Nach oben

Kurzportrait

Professor Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Christian Homburg ist Direktor des Instituts für Marktorientierte Unternehmensführung (IMU) an der Universität Mannheim. Seine Spezialgebiete sind unter anderem Marktorientierte Unternehmensführung, Kundenbeziehungsmanagement und Vertriebsmanagement.


Professor Homburg ist Autor zahlreicher Bücher und Artikel im nationalen und internationalen Bereich. Er gehört zu den ganz wenigen deutschen Managementprofessoren, die auch international große Beachtung gefunden haben. Heute gehört er den Herausgeberbeiräten von 6 Fachzeitschriften in den USA und Deutschland an. Seit April 2011 ist Professor Homburg darüber hinaus als einziger Deutscher als Area Editor für die auf dem Gebiet des Marketing bedeutendste Zeitschrift, das Journal of Marketing, tätig. Für seine wissenschaftliche Arbeit wurde er mehrfach von der American Marketing Association, der weltweit führenden wissenschaftlichen Vereinigung im Marketingbereich, ausgezeichnet. Im November 2005 sowie im Mai 2009 belegte er den ersten Platz in einer forschungsbezogenen Handelsblatt-Rangliste. Im Jahre 2009 wurden in diesem Ranking 2100 BWL-Professoren aus Deutschland, Österreich und der deutschsprachigen Schweiz berücksichtigt. In der publikationsbezogenen Weltrangliste der American Marketing Association von November 2012 belegte er Platz eins für seine Forschungstätigkeit in den bedeutendsten Marketingfachzeitschriften.
Professor Homburg erhielt Rufe an die WHU Koblenz (1995), die Universität München (1995), die Handelshochschule Leipzig (1995) sowie die Universität Mannheim (1998). Darüber hinaus erhielt er 2002 den Ruf auf die Nachfolge von Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Heribert Meffert am traditionsreichen Institut für Marketing der Universität Münster. 2003 erhielt er einen Ruf als Chaired Professor an die renommierte Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, USA. Im März 2006 zeichnete ihn die Copenhagen Business School mit dem Ehrendoktor aus und im Juli 2008 erhielt er von der Technischen Universität Freiberg seinen zweiten Ehrendoktortitel. Seit Ende 2007 ist er Professorial Fellow am Department of Management and Marketing an der University of Melbourne.
Vor seiner Hochschullaufbahn war er in einem weltweit tätigen Industrieunternehmen Direktor für Marketing, Controlling und strategische Planung. Neben seiner Hochschultätigkeit ist er Vorsitzender des wissenschaftlichen Beirats von Homburg & Partner, einer international tätigen Managementberatung.
Vom 01.12.2006 bis zum 1.11.2010 war Professor Homburg alleiniger Geschäftsführer der Mannheim Business School. Unter seiner Führung gelang es der Mannheim Business School sich zu einem der führenden Institute in Europa für die Ausbildung von Managern zu entwickeln. In der vierjährigen Amtszeit von Professor Homburg hat sich die Studentenanzahl mehr als vervierfacht und die MBA Programme an der Mannheim Business School gehören nun zu den weltweit führenden Programmen.

Nach oben